

## **RESOLUTION NO. 22-10**

## A RESOLUTION HONORING AND RECOGNIZING THE KENT STATE UNIVERSITY SCHOOL OF EMERGING MEDIA AND TECHNOLOGY (EMAT), HUDSON COMMUNITY **TELEVISION, AND THE HUDSON COMMUNITY TELEVISION ADVISORY COMMITTEE** FOR THE LAUNCH OF THE HCTV MOBILE APP.

WHEREAS, Kent State University, Hudson Community Television, and the Hudson Community Television Advisory Committee began their partnership in the Fall of 2020 to create a mobile application for HCTV: and

WHEREAS, the students who designed and developed the HCTV app were Ethan Hancock, Elias Shingleton, Michael Stephens, Erica Hewitt, and Keith Hodar; and

WHEREAS, the students were supported by EMAT Professional-in-Residence Adam Stephens, Kent State University IdeaBase Director Kristin Dowling, and EMAT Director Michael Beam; and

WHEREAS, the group worked closely with HCTV staff Barbara VanBlarcum, Dan Gerbracht, and Meg Andrus; and

WHEREAS, Kent State University students created the app as part of a class project, saving the City of Hudson thousands of dollars: and

WHEREAS, currently, the public can view all recent HCTV programming on-demand, as well as the live stream of HCTV channels; and

WHEREAS, as of January 1, 2022, the app is live and available for public use.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Council of the City of Hudson, Ohio, on behalf of itself and the residents of the City, expresses its thanks and gratitude to the Kent State University School of Emerging Media and Technology, Hudson Community Television, and the Hudson Community Television Advisory Committee for its service to the City of Hudson.

Christopher W. Foster, President of Council Craig A. Shubert, Mayor Christopher A. Banweg Beth A. Bigham Karen E. Heater Nicole V. Kowalski Katherine R. Schlademan Skylar J. Sutton

Adopted this 1<sup>st</sup> day of February 2022.