

City of Hudson, Ohio

Meeting Minutes - Draft City Council

Jeffrey L. Anzevino, Mayor
Christopher W. Foster, President of Council (Ward 2)
Christopher A. Banweg, Council Member (At-Large)
Vacant, Council Member (Ward 4)
Karen E. Heater, Council Member (At-Large)
Nicole V. Kowalski, Council Member (At-Large)
Katherine R. Schlademan, Council Member (Ward 1)
Skylar J. Sutton, Council Member (Ward 3)

Thomas J. Sheridan, City Manager Marshal Pitchford, City Solicitor Aparna Wheeler, Clerk of Council

Tuesday, January 31, 2023

7:30 PM

Town Hall 27 East Main Street

Special Meeting

1. Call to Order

Mayor Anzevino called to order the meeting of Hudson City Council at 7:30 p.m., in accordance with the Sunshine Laws of the State of Ohio, O.R.C. Section 121.22.

2. Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag

3. Roll Call

Present: 5 - Mr. Banweg, Mrs. Heater, Mrs. Kowalski, Ms. Schlademan and Mr.

Sutton

Absent: 1 - Mr. Foster

Staff in Attendance: Mr. Sheridan, City Manager; Ms. Wheeler, Clerk of Council; and Mr. Leiter, HCTV Production Assistant.

4. Public Comments

Ms. Colleen Barrera, 2760 Parkside Dr., and Ms. Gina Esposito, 7339 Burntwood Lane, stated that the Council should work towards its common goal of the City.

Ms. Sara Viar, 15 Chadbourne Dr., asked Council to set its differences aside and work together.

Mr. Mike Donovan, Stoney Hill Dr., encouraged residents to write to Council.

5. Correspondence and Council Comments

Mr. Sutton provided updates on the Tree Commission and the Ad Hoc Committee for Fiber to the Residents.

Mayor Anzevino responded to residents eager to get past recent events taking place in the City, wanting civil discourse, as well as returning to what makes Hudson great.

6. Executive Session

A motion was made by Ms. Schlademan, seconded by Mr. Banweg, to nominate Mr. Sutton as Council President Pro Tempore for the January 31, 2023, executive session. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - Mrs. Heater, Ms. Schlademan, Mr. Sutton and Mr. Banweg

Excused: 1 - Mrs. Kowalski

A motion was made by Mr. Sutton, seconded by Mr. Banweg, to invite Mr. Sheridan, Mr. Theodore Lesiak, Mrs. Heater, Mr. Sutton, Mr. Banweg, and Ms. Schlademan to enter into executive session for the purpose of seeking and receiving legal advice concerning a dispute involving the City that is the subject of pending court action. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - Mrs. Heater, Ms. Schlademan, Mr. Sutton and Mr. Banweg

Excused: 1 - Mrs. Kowalski

Council recessed into executive session at 7:51 p.m. Executive session adjourned at 8:47 p.m.

7. Adjournment

There being no further business, a motion was made by Mr. Sutton, seconded by Mrs. Heater, to adjourn the meeting. The motion carried unanimously and the meeting adjourned at 8:47 p.m.

Jeffrey L. Anzevino, Mayor	

Aparna Wheeler, Clerk of Council

Upon approval by City Council, this official written summary of the meeting minutes shall become a permanent record, and the official minutes shall also consist of a permanent audio and video recording, excluding executive sessions, in accordance with Codified Ordinances, Section 220.03(d), Rules.